Skip to content

10 Quik Subtle Cat Pain Signals

September 20, 2010

dilute tortoiseshell shaded silver himalayan cat peers at Doc Truli from between table legs

I'm not running yet! Give me a sec....

This Week On VirtuaVet: Helping Cats in Pain

VirtuaVet Presents a Weeklong Quik Series Devoted to Helping Cats in Pain

10 Quik Signs of Subtle Ordinary Cat Pain

  • Drooling (stomach pain, mouth pain)
  • Taking longer to aim a jump (back, hip)
  • Jumping and missing (back pain)
  • Squinting. No, cats don’t squint to see better!
  • Hesitating to touch paw down (shoulder or paw pain)
  • Licking fur until it’s bald on sides (kidney stones)
  • Holding one ear down (earache)
  • Blinking and tearing (eye pain)
  • Not eating (fever, aches and pains)
  • Meowing in the litter box (bladder or urinary tract pain)

Read more about cats in pain at VirtuaVet’s How to Tell If Your Cat is in Pain

VirtuaVet Interactive

Does your cat have a possible symptom that worries you? Leave a comment for Doc Truli and she’ll get back to you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 3:40 pm

    My cat Mikey is an eight year old pure white,Domestic Long Hair. Mikey was born deaf, he is my best friend. Mikey eats normal, drinks normal, urination hasn’t change, suffers constipation sometimes but loves pumpkin which seems to help, he is starting to look overweight to me so I stopped giving the cat treats hoping it will help.

    My concern with Mikey is the position he sleeps in…he always seems to have his back end pressed up against something, me or the couch or whatever he is sleeping on. Makes me think his back end is bothering him. He is having a tougher time cleaning his lower self due to gaining weight, he is not usually messy but I noticed the hair on his lower belly doesn’t get groomed so well these days so I help when he needs me to. And as I said, I have stopped the treats just recently .(they were all addicted to them)
    Mikey is the king of our household of six cats, he takes his royal position very seriously and is much to proud to show any sign of weakness so I have to always be on my toes with him and pay attention.
    Anyway, your thoughts would be appreciated, I have no problem taking him to see the vet, I just hate putting him through drama if its just me being an over protective mommy. Mikey had a complete blood panel done last year, everything came back normal. That’s when I found out about his constipation, we wanted to rule out anything else with the blood work.

    Thank you for your time.


    Jennifer Moore

    • July 30, 2011 4:51 pm

      Dear Jennifer,
      Mikey sounds like a king! do you know how to check his anal sacs? Maybe they are full or irritating him?
      Can you keep him very clean?
      Your description makes him sound very fat. If he is obese, as I suspect, the very best thing you can do for his health is to

    • get him to lose weight.
    • Did you read my story about how to get a fat cat to lose weight? that might help “a ton.”

      Twice a year visits to the vet for a cat with some health questions are reasonable -even if he doesn’t think so!

  • September 28, 2010 11:11 am

    Great post!🙂

    • September 29, 2010 3:40 pm

      Thanks, Chris!

  • Leave a Reply

