Skip to content

Fat Chihuahua

July 24, 2010
tan chi cini

Fat Dogs Epidemic in US

Well, we finally made our dogs as needy, neurotic, and fat as the average American!  65% of American dogs are fat.  Many are obese.  No one seems to either 1) know it, or 2) think it’s a big deal.

Here’s how you know if your dog is fat:

  1. Cannot feel or count the ribs.
  2. Cannot see a waistline from the side.
  3. Cannot see a waistline from the top.

Simple. See what I mean?

A fat dog is a “big” deal.

If your dog is fat, he or she will:

  1. Suffer arthritis, bronchitis, collapsing trachea, or heart failure much more easily than a thin dog.
  2. Die 2-4 years before he or she should.

2-4 years to a chihuahua or a labrador is like 20 years for us!  Imagine that!

fetching chihuahua coquette

fat fetching chihuahua coquette

fat back chihuahua

fat back chihuahua

fat side chihuahua

fat side chihuahua

Get the skinny on your dog’s diet.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 2:52 am

    Have you done a post about marrow bones? If not, what is your opinion on them? I used to feed my dogs marrow bones. They loved them, and it gave me a break when I needed some rest and they needed something to do. However, I have switched to a raw diet, and the consensus on the raw lists is that the weight-bearing bones of large ungulates (e.g., cows) wreck a dog’s teeth, can cause slab fractures, etc., so I stopped. The problem is that Barnum is a chewing machine. A super aggressive chewer. He chewed through his favorite Kong! He has an antler he’s been working on for a few months, but it only holds its appeal for so long at a time. I would love to go back to marrow bones, but I don’t want to hurt his teeth. Opinion?

    • November 17, 2010 8:03 pm

      Hi Sharon! It’s good to hear from you. It is good to feed raw bones like knuckle bones. They splinter and split and break teeth when they are boiled or cooked. They give nicely under the chewing pressure when they are raw. So I do not routinely recommend the long bones, but the knuckle bone-type bones are good. Since you already feed a raw diet, you understand food safety precautions, so the raw knuckle bones should be no big deal for you to monitor and clean up after.

      My advice is informed by the Australian vets and their raw meaty bones campaign, and veterinary board-certified dentists to whom I have spoken on this topic.

      Yours,
      Doc Truli

      • November 17, 2010 8:16 pm

        Thank you very much! Now I just have to find a source of knuckle bones where there is some meat on the bones, not just all fat. I gave Barnum one of those knuckle bones, and it made him sick because of such a lot of fat all at once….
        And no, I never feed them cooked. I always fed raw marrow bones, for years, that I got from the butcher. Then, one time my mom bought Gadget some “sterilized” marrow bones with some sort of crunchy topping on them. I knew you were never supposed to feed cooked bones, but I foolishly thought, “Well, these are in a package, sold at a health food store in the pet aisle, so they must know what they’re doing.”
        Of course, a piece of the bone chipped off and Gadget got it caught in his throat and was hacking and choking. I was in a panic! Fortunately, we got it out, and there was no harm done. But, never again! I threw the other one out.

Trackbacks

  1. Fat English Bulldog « VirtuaVet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

